Views: 4361|Replies: 4

Give affection to aged parents without delay [Copy link] 中文

Post time 2014-4-21 13:55:03 |Display all floors
THREE years ago, when I graduated from college, one of my classmates was offered an enviable job in Beijing. I couldn’t believe it when he rejected the offer and instead went to work for a much smaller company in Shanghai so he could be closer to his parents. He explained that his parents were in their 60s and he did not want to see the ancient Chinese saying “by the time sons and daughters want to be filial, the parents are already dead” come true in his family.

This February, when I was watching the Spring Festival Gala, a heart-warming song entitled “Where the time has been” caught my attention. The song brought to mind the vivid memories of my happy childhood and reminded me how time has severed the once intimate bonds between grown kids and aged parents. I began to understand my classmate’s decision, and I felt ashamed because my parents sacrificed so much for me, but I have paid back so little.

Last month, my father called me and I asked him if he had something important to tell me. He said, “no, I just feel we haven’t talked to each other for a long time, and I miss you a lot.” Suddenly, I realized that after “drifting” for years in Beijing, I had almost forgotten to reach out to my family for affection. Instead, I got lost in the pursuit of my career.

I remember when I was back home this Spring Festival, I never thought about buying gifts for my parents. But when I returned to Beijing, I thought carefully about what special products I should buy for each of my workmates.

The Chinese have a well-earned reputation of honoring filial piety and having family-orientated values. As a result, I think my roommate’s choice was a good one considering that, as an only child, he has the responsibility to look after his parents who live in China’s most aged city. About 27 percent of Shanghai’s population is over 60.