Views: 6080|Replies: 5

The story of a programmer learning English [Copy link] 中文

Post time 2013-12-17 20:53:25 |Display all floors
This post was edited by bravos at 2013-12-17 21:16

I am a computer programmer.

Some four month ago, my passion of learning English was rekindled after I had completed my last programming project, a rewarding one, I’d like to say. Feeling nothing to do, I didn’t choose to smell the flowers or do something else, but to ‘revitalize’ my long-neglected English.

As regards to my English, I was an average student when I was a college student, when I thought I knew about 6,000 English words and was desperate to know that there was actually one million words in this language. And in July, on Chinadaily BBS, I admitted that I only knew around 1,500 words and I knew most of my words were gone with forgotten memories. Since then, I began to learn English 12 hours a day, with increasing my vocabulary as my first priority, a hint made by my teacher Seneca. In four months, I read 5 English novels, and memorized 6,000 English words, and amazingly, I found back my lost words in the same process.

As a learner of English, I do not have a retentive memory though I am not stupid, either. Seneca, both a friend and a mentor, enlightened and inspired me. Under the tutelage of this incisive mentor, combined with my painstaking efforts, I made rapid progress.