Views: 3728|Replies: 1

Listening [Copy link] 中文

Post time 2012-1-9 08:19:46 |Display all floors
This post was edited by Ronny at 2012-1-9 10:27

I think listening and comprehension are really the hardest part of learning any language.The below is written for beginners

I spent 10 years working with deaf children, and did not know any sign language when i first arrived, i studied the books, asked questions and after about 6 months had learned to sign quite well........but, when a deaf child signed to me i was often at a loss to keep up, the longer the conversation the less i understood what was being said. The problem was in thinking... of being able to read the signs as they were being used, What i found out was that i needed to see the signs like words in a book i was reading ( sign is a representation of english in this case, but could be any language) . when we read a book, we hear a voice saying those words, and so I realised that when i saw the signs i must hear the words in my head, after that my ability to sign increased a great deal, and i even moonlighted as a translator for deaf people, usually colledge students.