Views: 4248|Replies: 6

ESL Teacher [Copy link] 中文

Post time 2004-2-23 14:51:06 |Display all floors
Hello everyone,

My name is Chris.  I live in Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada.  I am considering taking an employment contract teaching English as a Second Language (ESL) in China.  This will be my first time visiting China, and I'm a little nervous.  China has a whole different culture than what I am used to.  I would like to make a few new friends in different parts of the country because I do not know where I would be going, yet.  As I said, I am considering taking this job.  I do not have it yet.

What is the overall opinion of people concerning English teachers?  What kind of food could I expect to eat?  What kind of people will I meet?  What are the different cultures of China like other than what I read on websites?

I'm sorry I am asking so many questions.  Please be patient with me as I am still learning.

Thank you,
Chris

Use magic tools Report

Post time 2004-2-23 16:50:05 |Display all floors

To Chris

Hi Chris,

I did understand your personal concerns when you are thinking about all of those thing. Yes, it is ture that when a guy first time goes to a country about which he does not know anything except that from internet. I would like to tell you that China is very friendly country and Chinese is very opened and very kind. Nowdays, the economy develops very rapidly. I dont' think there are any barriers whenever we are talking about the foods, life and culture. If you were in China, you will find you can manage to do whatever you want, such as find a job, teaching English; enjoy yourself in your free time. The most important thing is that you should respect people, that's very common to every nation, every country. I have been to several contries like, UK, US. Japan. No big difference. So you can surive in China as soon as you take your life seriously.

Use magic tools Report

Post time 2004-2-23 19:25:17 |Display all floors

Welcome to GuangZhou