Views: 5332|Replies: 6

The Weiqi or Go game, is it popular in China? [Copy link] 中文

Post time 2006-12-23 07:23:15 |Display all floors
Recently I learned to play the boardgame Weiqi (in pinyin) or Go, really a fascinating game! The strategy goes so deep, I find the game more interesting than chess. I wonder, is it a popular game in China?

By the way if you want to learn this game, I would recommend this website: <http://playgo.to/interactive> It uses interactive java applets to teach the rules of the game and lets you practise some situations.

And if someone wants to play a game of Weiqi / Go with me, we can do it online (at yahoogames for example). I'm only a beginner (maybe 10 or 8 kyu) but it could be a lot of fun :)

Use magic tools Report

Post time 2006-12-26 13:29:42 |Display all floors
I think it is very popular especially among youngsters.
Playing a game of Go is really fun and you can get fully invovled in a metal tranquility. It is good to  better  your temper if yours is too pepper

[ Last edited by watertree at 2006-12-26 01:31 PM ]
I like to be here, to be with you, to sense your presence all the time.

Use magic tools Report

Post time 2006-12-29 02:06:02 |Display all floors
The best GO players are in China, South Karea, and Japan. Japan used to have the best players, then South Karea became the best near the end of last century. Now China is becoming the strongest. Really fantastic game.
I like to be here, to be with you, to sense your presence all the time.

Use magic tools Report

Post time 2006-12-29 22:03:24 |Display all floors
Hi , pendragon
  You like Go game, ther is a Japanese Cartoon called the Soul of Go, it is about the Go game
what an interesting game you can found in the cartoon

Use magic tools Report

Post time 2006-12-30 14:21:27 |Display all floors
Originally posted by watertree at 2006-12-26 13:29
I think it is very popular especially among youngsters.