Views: 5575|Replies: 7

Mosuo Culture and Special Exhibition, April 22 [Copy link] 中文

Post time 2006-4-12 00:16:05 |Display all floors
My abiding passion is in learning about different cultures; I work as a cross-cultural consultant, and have travelled extensively in China, visiting many different regions and many different minorities.

One minority that has particularly captured my interest, and my passion, is the Mosuo culture.  Although not very well-known, they are a very unique culture.  They have many aspects of matriarchal cultures, with women in charge of the family, owning all property, etc.  They also do not practice marriage; instead, women can choose (and change) partners as they please in a system called "zou hun" or "walking marriage".

One and a half years ago, I began working with the Mosuo to set up a non-profit organization to support them in their endeavors.  They live in one of the poorest regions of China, high in the Himalayan Mountains, on the border of Yunnan and Sichuan provinces.  Many villages still have no electricity; most have no running water.  Average annual income is around RMB 500-1000.

In January of this year, we completed registration of the Lugu Lake Mosuo Cultural Development Association.  We have established our website at www.mosuoproject.org, which I would encourage everyone to check out.  It has detailed information about the Mosuo culture, about our organization, and about the projects we plan to do.