Views: 11274|Replies: 21

Is the Chinese language breaking down? [Copy link] 中文

Post time 2006-1-10 17:58:20 |Display all floors
I'm not particularly good at English myself, but I do know a little.  It does seem, however, that some ideas are more difficult to express without ambiguity or misassumptions due to the change in meaning of certain words in the language.

For instance, how to distinguish between the following words in colloquial speech:

'English' and 'Western':  I've actually heard many a Chinese refer to cultural traits, literature, etc. which were chiefely English in nature as Western.  So how does a Chinese distinguish between these two terms normally?  After all, Italian culture is western too.

'English' and 'foreign language': I remember telling a neighbour that I was a foreign language teacher, and that I also taught it on weekends.  She immediately asked if I could teach her English on the weekends, too.  I expleained taht I don't teach English on the weekend.  She looked at me puzzled, saying that I had just daid that I teach English on the weekend.  I responded, no, I teach other foreing language on the weekend.  Another friend even advised that I don't mention that I'm a foreing language teacher on my namecard, but rather just a language teacher.  Although that leads some to conclude that that means Chinese.  Knowing that I can't poccibly be a Chinese teacher, however, they then look at me puzzled.  But if my name card should say that I'm a teacher of other foreing languages it sounds funny.  Thus the only real option is to say that I'm a language teacher on the name card, and then explain it verbally, or put the languages I teach in brackets underneath the title!  Although I do teach English too, but just don't want people to misunderstand my Chinese to suggest only English.