Views: 10728|Replies: 9

Ronaldinho named agian, then who's the best in past 15 years [Copy link] 中文

Rank: 4

Post time 2005-12-20 10:37:35 |Display all floors
Ronaldinho reinforced his status at world soccer by being award another world footballer of year award.  Look at the following list, you'll know what kind of figure he could be in a longer time.

FIFA lauched this award in 1991.  This is the 15th award, but Ronaldinho is only the 10th owner, which means there could be five players who could be singled out for capturing two honours. In fact, only three people have done this twice in past 15 years. Except Ronaldinho - the other two are seen as the most talented in the world - Ronaldo and Zidane.  They each were named amazingly three times. So, Ronaldinho is one step awary from Ronaldo and Zidane. But one cannot say Ronaldo and Zidane are the greatest in the past 20 years, as the van Basten could got equally three trophies if the forefront was in 1985. I'm sure he could get at least one more.   

OK, let's sort these world's best players out with a simple system like this: one-award class, two-award class and three-award class. Most of winners got no more than one. Their influence on world soccer are historical, but limited. Among them are Romario, Weah, Rivaldo, Figo. They are fabulous in one big international tournament or in a season, but good form cannot continue. Romario in World Cup 1994, Weah in Seria A 1995, Rivaldo in 1999 Primera Liga and Figo in 2000 European Cup. Matthaeus and van Basten were supposed to win more awards if this award could start earlier. So, Zidane and Ronaldo are the best of at least a decade, or 15 years, while Ronaldinho could be seen as the successor of Zidane to donminate the nest 10 years.

Another interesting point is that, 15 years passed, world's best players are still playing in Seria A and Primera Liga clubs. Not a single player from England clubs or Germany clubs, and Barcelona are the club of geneouses,  three people four times.

Following are the winners of FIFA's World Player of the Year award since its introduction:  

1991 - Lothar Matthaeus (Germany) Inter Milan

1992 - Marco van Basten (Netherlands) AC Milan

1993 - Roberto Baggio (Italy) Juventus

1994 - Romario (Brazil) Barcelona

1995 - George Weah (Liberia) AC Milan

1996 - Ronaldo (Brazil) Barcelona

1997 - Ronaldo Inter Milan

1998 - Zinedine Zidane (France) Juventus

1999 - Rivaldo (Brazil) Barcelona

2000 - Zidane Juventus

2001 - Luis Figo (Portugal) Real Madrid

2002 - Ronaldo Real Madrid

2003 - Zidane Real Madrid

2004 - Ronaldinho (Brazil) Barcelona

2005 - Ronaldinho Barcelona

[ Last edited by fxxxxa at 2005-12-20 10:43 AM ]

Use magic tools Report

Rank: 4

Post time 2005-12-20 11:07:11 |Display all floors
Adriano will crown the title next year!!!!!

Use magic tools Report

Rank: 4

Post time 2005-12-20 15:11:58 |Display all floors
Ronaldinho is easily the greatest player of the last fifteen years.

Use magic tools Report

Rank: 4

Post time 2005-12-20 15:35:48 |Display all floors
Bacelona ,Real Madrid, Juventus,Inter ,and MIlan monopolize the award !!!

Use magic tools Report

Rank: 4

Post time 2005-12-20 15:53:29 |Display all floors

Will there be any center in the world who could compare van Basten's elegance?

Use magic tools Report

Rank: 4

Post time 2005-12-20 16:01:56 |Display all floors
Now there are so many terrific strikers who are different sort compared with Basten.
Zlatan Ibrahimovic will be the new legend with magnificent skill!!

Use magic tools Report

Rank: 1

Post time 2005-12-20 18:11:42 |Display all floors
Lothar Matthaeus

Use magic tools Report

You can't reply post until you log in Log in | register

Contact us:Tel: (86)010-84883548, Email:
Blog announcement:| We reserve the right, and you authorize us, to use content, including words, photos and videos, which you provide to our blog
platform, for non-profit purposes on China Daily media, comprising newspaper, website, iPad and other social media accounts.