Dominating the skyline from its commanding site on a hillside overlooking the New Territories town of Fanling, the Fung Ying Seen Koon is a superb example of Taoist design and craftsmanship.
Its massive orange-tiled double roof, built to traditional design and supported by stout red pillars of stone, immediately catches the eye, almost beckoning the visitor to step up to its entrance and inspect the many examples of artistic craftsmanship to be found within its grounds.
The magnificent main hall of the Koon (Temple) stands amidst numerous pavilions and towers, all combining to present an enchanting picture-postcard scene from the China of yesteryear. Other features include a large pavilion in the garden, where vibrant flowerbeds and miniature bridges add a further magical touch to the scene.
The Fung Ying Seen Koon was founded as an affiliate of the Dragon Gate sect of the Complete Perfection Lineage. In the early days of the Fung Ying Seen Koon, the buildings were dilapidated and the equipment they used was simple and crude. Later, in 1929, through generous donations of Daoist directors, the Eastern Hall was built as a Quiet Chamber for Cultivating the Dao.
How To Get There
Fung Ying Seen Koon
MTR Fanling Station. Look for the temple's distinctive orange double roof.