Views: 10569|Replies: 73

English and racism. [Copy link] 中文

Post time 2004-3-30 13:49:55 |Display all floors
I'm a language teacher in China, and have noticed many (though not all) schools in China refuse to hire blacks, Asians, or anyone with a non-white face,who doesn't look tipically Anglos-Saxon and who doesn't speak with a standard US, Canadian or British accent (although some will accept Irish, Australian or South African English sometimes, but rarely).  I'm curious to know why that is?

Use magic tools Report

Post time 2004-4-1 00:02:32 |Display all floors

Stereotyping

It is disappointing that language schools operate an apparent colour bar in this way. This is a nonsense, as some of the best English spoken in the world today hails from India and Pakistan.

I also think it's a nonsense that they only hire "native" English speakers. Just because they grew up speaking English doesn't mean that they are either:

1. A proficient speaker of English;
2. A competent teacher.

Indeed, it is said in Western education circles that "to teach, is to learn twice"; ie., if someone has had to learn something - such as English - then they are well-placed to understand the demands of learning that subject. Therefore, they are better able to help English students with common difficulties.

I wish these companies would think more deeply about their recruitment policies !

Use magic tools Report

Post time 2004-4-1 02:55:50 |Display all floors

Perhaps, this is ONE of the reasons.

"tipically Anglos-Saxon"??

( Before you jump to conclusions, I want to let you know that I am neither a teacher nor a native English-speaker nor an ANGLO-SAXON. )

Use magic tools Report

Post time 2004-4-1 05:20:06 |Display all floors

Nonsense, did I hear??

Re: "This is a nonsense, as some of the best English spoken in the world today hails from India and Pakistan. "