Views: 5680|Replies: 12

Practical Workplace English [Copy link] 中文

Post time 2005-12-15 23:24:15 |Display all floors
Hello there,

I am new here but I am not a new comer (1) to forums.   

I am very irritated to see writing in far from perfect English.  There are too many silly mistakes made by users of English due to ignorance or incompetence.

Many simply dream to become a top English user, without spending much time reading, listening, writing or speaking the language.   I have summed it up in one of my blogs:-
http://blog.hexun.com/mdoinit

No matter how difficult it is to write in English, we must try it.  Without ever trying it out, you never learn it well.   I for one do not like to see Chinese being used in English forums except for explanation.  By this, I mean those who is fairly advanced already, not complete beginners.

Here is an example of an email from someone who worked in an educational institution in China.

Original
--------

Dear Botch,

thank you very much for your visiting. i am very pleased we had a happy talk. i reported our talk to my boss, Mr Lupeng. and i know that Butterfly English Language Center and Mickymouse International Education Center Corp) have signed contract already. all we talked yesterday are very clearly on that contract, including the quotation.

our task (Jingzhou Office) is to explain universities and colleges to students.

appreciate your coming again. have a nice weekend.

yours Julie Cai

MIECC, JINGZHOU OFFICE

Improved Version  (by MDOINIT)
------------------------

Dear Botch,

It was a pleasure meeting you in our offices yesterday.

Mr Lupeng, my supervisor, will be duly informed of the details of our meeting which covered the co-operative agreement between Butterfly English Language Center and Mickymouse International Education Center Corp) and a related quotation.