Views: 3692|Replies: 0

Learning English and other Languages. [Copy link] 中文

Post time 2003-12-7 11:05:18 |Display all floors
I had made this post in another forum, but I am repeating it here, as it might help you.

A person was concerned about how difficult it is for him to learn Chinese. The person, also, was not a native Engish speaker, as his English was very bad, like a complete beginner. But the advice I offered is very helpful for learning any language.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

To the rest of the world, English is by far the most difficult language to learn, as its structure and grammar are so complicated, such that highly educated native spearkers are often puzzled by it--and English lanuguage scholars argue among themselves about what "correct" English is.

The English vocabulary is vast, and it is literally growing by the moment, as, not only are the components of words modular and reconfigurable, English absorbs into itself words of many countries, which adds to its difficulty and further problems with pronounciation.

While just watching the evening world news, in America, I cringe at all of the obvious errors in grammar and usage, and the mispronounciations of words.

The Chinese grammar is very simple in comparison, and one word does not have many meanings.

The problem that westerners have is going from writing Romanized letters to both recognizing and writing the non-Romanized Chinese words, which is a problem any westerner has with the world's non-romanized languages.

Also, there is the always present difficulty in just hearing the words in a foreign language that all people share. Before studying a foreign language, the student just cannot yet distinguish individual words, because they seem to run together too fast. Chinese people have that difficulty with English, and the English speaker has it with Chinese.