Views: 6611|Replies: 8

Doubter in please [Copy link] 中文

Post time 2003-11-27 17:55:24 |Display all floors
Dear Doubter:
   You said we should thinking in English,do not translate it into Chinese.And I do!but,you know,I'm so poor in my vocabulary and grammar that I feel hard to make even one complete sentence!
   Now, the CET-4 is coming again.I'm still learning English words(60~70 per day),and read 8 reading comprehensions,and do some grammar exercises.But the circulation is going on.Learn today,foget tomorrow!Can you tell me how can I stop this?Thank you so~~~~ much!
   Expecting your reply.

Use magic tools Report

Post time 2003-11-28 01:35:18 |Display all floors

Two questions before I can answer you.

1. When you learn new vocabulary words, do you have a list of English words with their Chinese translations?

2. Do you enjoy reading, or do you only read comprehension because it is homework?

Answer these questions and I will try to give you some help.

Use magic tools Report

Post time 2003-11-28 10:53:01 |Display all floors

my answer

1:   Yes , I have an Chinese translation list.
2:   No,it's not my homework.I like reading,though it is hard for me to read  English articals.  Furthermore, I read because the certificate somehow.
Thanks for helping me.

Use magic tools Report

Post time 2003-11-29 14:22:48 |Display all floors

Thankyou for your answers

Your answers tell me two things:

1. You are not learning vocabulary as a "language learning" exercise, you are learning vocabulary as a memorisation exercise.

A list of English words with their Chinese "translations" (often incorrect) is not a language learning exercise. A list like that actually FORCES you to think in Chinese!